Skip to content
April 19, 2011 / Jenny C

Cream Peas and Tuna


Yes – you read that right.  Three ingredients that really should never go together are sitting there, side by side, in the subject line of this post.

I never said all of mom’s recipes were GOOD, did I?  I simply said I was reconnecting with mom through her recipes.  Cream peas and tuna was… well, kind of the go-to meal that mom would make for my brother and I when she needed something quick and easy to make for us.  I’m not sure I remember her or my father ever eating this with us – although I could just be blocking that for whatever reason.  Although her recipe states “eat on top of toast or mix with noodles”, I never remember eating this with noodles.  We always had it over toast (white bread, of course), and I really think that’s why I liked it.  Warm, crusty toast topped with creamy sauce.

As I write this, I am actually still trying to decide whether or not I will post the final picture – because it’s really not pretty.  In fact, it did not nearly maintain the appeal I remember as a kid, which leads me to believe that this is pretty much a meal you make for the kids… on the weekend… and maybe when you have a backup meal plan in mind.   Seriously, though – it'[s a good way to incorporate some veggies and protein into your kid’s diet.  Just know that as adults, they may develop an aversion to gravy – as what seems to be the case with my brother.

That said – the white sauce (you may recognize the steps from the scalloped potatoes recipe) is such an awesome base to know.  If you can perfect this white sauce, you have a base with infinte possibilities.  I use this base to start macaroni & cheese, especially.  For those of you who like biscuits and gravy for your weekend breakfast, pump up the pepper, omit the peas & tuna and toss in sausage.  That’s what mom did.  A pound of ground, cooked sausage – and let it simmer.  These days I opt for soy sausage – and it’s delightfully tasty. 

Here’s how you do it:  Slowly melt 4 tablespoons of butter in a skillet, then add 4 tablespoons of flour.  Whisk together until mixture starts to lightly brown.  Whisk in 2 cups of milk – continue to whisk until you are certain there are no lumps.  Add one can of peas (drained) and one can of tuna (water packed).  Cook slowly, stirring occasionally until thickened.  Season with salt & pepper.  When mixture boils, it is done.  Serve on top of toast or mix with noodles.

How do I not have an aversion to peas?

The verdict:  Oh sure, it’s not a meal I would eat every day, but it was fun to experience it again.  There is happiness associated with this dish – maybe it was remembering mom stirring the milk into the flour and butter and telling me that you have to beat up the lumps, or her putting me on toast duty.  I prepared my plate just as mom did:  Two layers of toast topped with cream peas and tuna.  And to keep true to the childhood experience, I shared some of the peas with my dog.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Pamela / Apr 30 2011 11:20 am

    My mom made almost the same dish! Her only variations were the occassional addition of 1 or 2 slices of yellow, American cheese, using rice instead of toast or swapping out tuna for canned salmon. Lots of great memories of my mom making this especially for me when I was a little girl. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment